Google was the only one where me speaking my mind never seemed to cause a problem.

4 – They don’t seem to mind honest criticism. I’m currently reading a draft of a forthcoming Google book, and was amused to find that it includes an email that I sent back in 2000 trashing our then most recent product launch. It’s painful for me to not tell people what I think, so for the most part I try to find people who don’t mind hearing the truth (or my take on it, rather). Much of my interaction with startups consists of me telling them everything that I don’t like about their product (and then they thank me!). I’ve worked for a lot of different companies, and Google was the only one where me speaking my mind never seemed to cause a problem. I’m not claiming that I’m always right, because obviously I’m not, but systems (or individuals) that don’t welcome negative feedback are doomed. Cultures that don’t laugh at themselves are cults.

About markjeee

Entrepreneur, Programmer, Run-Bike Athlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

